Top leaders sign commitment letter to abide by election code

Top leaders sign commitment letter to abide by election code

SAM Staff,
Nepal’s top political leaders in a meeting organized at Election Commission office

Top leaders of major political parties including Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal have signed a commitment letter to abide by the election code of conduct.

Earlier, Wednesday, the Election Commission (EC) has summoned top leaders of the political parties to discuss the preparations for the upcoming local level elections.

Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhee Prasad Yadav, during the meeting, said that  holding the elections would be easy if the candidates from every party complied with the election code.

The meeting that took place at the EC office held discussions on the election preparations, compliance of election code of conduct, voters’ education, mutual agreement and dialogue between the political parties.

PM Dahal, Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN-UML leader Subas Nembang, Naya Shakti Nepal Party (NSNP) coordinator Baburam Bhattarai and Deputy PM Bijay Kumar Gachhadhar, among other leaders took part in today’s meeting.

Responding to the request put forth by NSNP Coordinator Bhattarai to count the votes of both phases all at once, CEC Yadav said as the ballot boxes could not be kept for one month. The idea of counting the votes at one go would be impossible, he added.

Likewise, UML leader Nembang drew the attention of CEC Yadav towards the killing of one UML cadre in Dolakha and demanded an immedite and fair investigation.

Yadav, in response, said that the EC is investigating the matter and action will be taken once the probe report comes.

SOURCEKathmandu Post